Vocational (Applied Science, Business, Health & Social Care, ICT Technical, Prince's Trust, Sport/PE and WJEC Catering)


Please click on the expandable sections below for information about the different subjects.

Applied Science

Information to follow.

Business (Business & Economics)

Information to follow.

Health & Social Care

Health and Social Care is a broad and diverse course that covers a wide spectrum of issues and debates across one’s health and wellbeing. Studied at KS4 and 5, the course explores the Physical, Emotional, Intellectual and Social development over the life course. This is based on theoretical research and contemporary understanding; and it responds to the changing needs of society.

Coupled with this is an in-depth exploration of the health care system and the different layers of care available. It explores the systems in place for meeting people’s needs, the levels of care people receive and the legal and political aspects that shape our health care system.

The course allows for our young people to explore matters that are very close to them, and work in a safe space to challenge issues in society and advocate for change. The nature and structure of the course allow for progression over time with a combination of coursework and examination modules.

The BTEC pathway is a rigorously assessed route at KS4 and 5 to allow students to progress onto many university-based pathways, as well as apprenticeships and work-based training.

Key Stage 4 Level 2 Tech Award:

  • Unit 1 – Human Lifespan Development (coursework)
  • Unit 2 – Working in Health and Social Care (coursework)
  • Unit 3 – Health and Wellbeing (exam)

Key Stage 5 Level 5 Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care:

  • Unit 1 – Human Lifespan Development (exam)
  • Unit 2 – Working in Health and Social Care (exam)
  • Unit 5 – Working in Partnership in Health and Social Care (coursework)
  • Unit 10 – Sociological Perspectives of Health Care (coursework)

ICT Cambridge Technical

Prince's Trust


Within the PE faculty, we offer Level 2 BTEC at KS4 and Level 3 BTEC at KS5. The qualification is equivalent to a GCSE or 1 – 3 A Levels dependent on the size of the qualification selected. BTEC offers a different way of learning and assessing.

The Level 2 qualification up to the qualification year of 2023 is the BTEC Level 1 / 2 First Award in Sport, where the students study four units with one being an online exam which they have two opportunities to sit. From Year 10 in September 2023 onwards the students will study the BTEC Tech Award in Sport, which is one exam component and two coursework components.

The Level 3 qualification equivalent to 1 A Level is the National Extended Certificate in Sport and consists of two exams and two coursework units. The qualification equivalent to 3 A Levels is the National Extended Diploma in Sport and consists of four exams and ten coursework units.

The Level 2 units for BTEC First Award (current year 11) are:

  • Unit 1 - Fitness for Sport and Exercise (exam)
  • Unit 2 - Practical Performance in Sport
  • Unit 3 - Applying the Principles of Personal Training
  • Unit 6 - Leading Sports Activities

The Level 2 units for the BTEC Tech Award (current year 10 onwards) are:

  • Component 1 – Preparing Participants to Take Part in Sport and Physical Activity (coursework)
  • Component 2 – Taking part and improving other participants sporting performance (coursework)
  • Component 3 - Developing Fitness to Improve Other Participants Performance in Sport and Physical Activity (exam)

Component 1 and 2 have to carried out in the Pearson assessment window. Component 2 will be sat during the February-May of year 10 and Component 1 will be sat in the October-December of year 11, when Pearson release their PSAs (Pearson Set assignments).

Component 3 is an exam which will be sat in the May/June of year 11.

The Level 3 units for Extended certificate are:

  • Unit 1 - Anatomy and Physiology (exam)
  • Unit 2 – Fitness Training and Programming for Health, Sport and Well-being (exam)
  • Unit 3 – Professional Development in the Sports Industry
  • Unit 5 - Application of Fitness Testing

The additional units for Level 3 Extended diploma are:

  • Unit 4 – Sports Leadership
  • Unit 7 - Practical Sports Performance
  • Unit 8 - Coaching for Performance
  • Unit 9 - Research Methods in Sport
  • Unit 17- Sports Injury management
  • Unit 18 – Work experience in Active leisure
  • Unit 19 - Development and Provision of Sport and Physical Activity (exam)
  • Unit 22 – Investigating Business in Sport and the Active Leisure Industry (exam)
  • Unit 23 – Skill Acquisition in Sport
  • Unit 25 - Rules, Regulations and Officiating in Sport

For the level 3 qualifications work experience is written into the course along with trips and opportunities to aim to raise the aspirations of our students to study Sport beyond the Academy with many of our past BTEC students going on to University to study courses like Physiotherapy, Sports Science, midwifery to name a few.

BTEC is a style of learning to suit learners who thrive within coursework and provides a range of transferrable skills as the assignments can be assessed through a range of methods, from presentations, written reports, leading sessions, interviews, training programmes, practical sessions and more.

Within the BTEC you will be taught by many different PE teachers who have years of experience teaching the qualifications.

PE Vocational Curriculum Maps

WJEC Hospitality & Catering